M-Pesa Payments Will Soon be Used on Nairobi Expressway as a Payment Method


Moja Expressway company has said the motorists of Nairobi Expressway will soon be allowed to pay via M-Pesa. 



This was made known by the CEO  of the Moja Expressway Company, Steve Zhao during the Moja Annual General Meeting on Thursday. Many motorists will be relieved from their long wait as the company stated in May that M-Pesa payment method will be delayed due to the quick nature of cash transactions and the possible rate of high traffic congestion at tolling points when M-Pesa payment. 


Steve Zhao said the great effort was put in place along with the M-Pesa team to enable M-Pesa to be available as a payment system on the Nairobi Expressway from the 15th of January, 2023.  Millions of Kenyans use mobile money to pay for goods and services and this development can also enable motorists to pay using the M-Pesa.




Moja Expressway which operates the road as a subsidiary of CRBC has previously accepted electronic cards and cash as payment methods. Motorists will be able to move through tolling stations faster when they register to use either an installed automatic payment system or a manual payment system. 


Manual tolling cards users must possess a government approved national ID card to register for the card and this will cost Sh300 for service charge while a minimum of Sh1,000 in points must be loaded. An ID will also be required from Electronic tolling card users alongside the registered vehicle logbook  while they pay a Sh1,000 installation service fee and load a minimum of Sh2,000 in points on the card. 


The expressway  which was the first major project to be  done through a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) model was officially opened by former President Uhuru Kenyatta on July 31st. The road covers Mlongo via the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) as well as the Nairobi Central Business District to the Westlands area via the Waiyaki Way.


There are 11 interchanges on the Sh89 billion expressway present in Mlolongo,  Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Capital Centre, Southern Bypass, Eastern Bypass, Standard Guage Railway, Museum Hill, Westlands, James Gichuru Road and Hauke Selassie Avenue.

Choose your Reaction!
Leave a Comment